What You Should Know About Insurance Claims

If you have been in an accident and you have suffered damage to your property or person, your first priority should be to get well. Your second priority should be to make sure that you get all of the insurance money you deserve for the bills related to the accident.

Insurance in Florida

Florida is a no-fault state when it comes to auto insurance. This means that a driver’s own insurance company will pay their accident-related bills no matter who is at fault.

Insurance companies do not like the no-fault law, because they have to pay out on every accident their customers have. They may try to offer you less money for your car than it is worth, and they may try getting out of paying some of your doctor’s bills.

It is important to follow all the necessary steps when filing a claim with an insurance company. It is also helpful to know how insurance companies look at claims.

How the Insurance Claim Process Works

Insurance companies will look for a way to get out of paying you, so make sure to take all the proper steps and document everything when you make a claim for insurance.

Stay at the Scene and Document Your Expenses

Whenever you are in an accident with injuries or one that results in significant injury to your automobile, you should call the police immediately. You should stay at the scene until they arrive. Exchange contact and insurance information with the other driver and take pictures if you can.

You should visit your doctor and save any bills that you have as a result of the accident. Save receipts from both prescription and over the counter drugs and take your car to a mechanic for an estimate. Have the HR department of the company for which you work, write you a letter stating the hours of work that you have missed due to the accident.

Calling the Insurance Company

When you call your insurance company, they will ask you a series of questions about your accident. If you don’t remember something, tell them that you do not remember it. They may ask to tape-record you, but you do not have to let them.

The insurance company will have 14 days to acknowledge your claim. They will then ask you to provide any documentation that you have and to fill out a proof of loss form.  Once they receive all of the necessary paperwork and documents, they will have 10 days to open an investigation. The company will then have 90 days to deny the claim or accept it and pay it.

While you wait to hear back from them, you should pay any deductibles that are due. You should always stay in touch with them and return any phone calls promptly.

Should you accept an insurance company’s offer?

An insurance company’s initial offer is almost always too low, which is why you should find a good personal injury attorney to represent you. An attorney who specializes in car accidents will have years of experience in negotiating with insurance companies and have a keen understanding of Florida’s court system and laws. Go to visit higgslawpa.com for more information.

Popular Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending Articles

Find a Lawyer   /   Ask a Question   /   Articles   /   About    Contact  

© Copyright 2022 | Attorney at Law Magazine | Privacy Policy