Ruth Bader Ginsburg Wins $1M Berggruen Prize

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

LOS ANGELES, CA—Justice Ginsburg has been named the recipient of the 2019 Berggruen Prize, which is given annually to a thinker whose ideas “have profoundly shaped human self-understanding and advancement in a rapidly changing world.”

The previous winners of the prize, which was first awarded in 2016, have all been philosophers. Justice Ginsburg, 86, who was chosen from a pool of more than 500 nominees, will direct the prize money to a charitable or nonprofit organization.

More Talk of the Town